Thursday, February 9, 2023
HomeCricketKuldeep and Siraj made Bangladesh 133 for eight

Kuldeep and Siraj made Bangladesh 133 for eight

Kuldeep Yadav (4/33) and Siraj (3/14) took Bangladesh to 102 for eight before Mehdi Hasan Miraj (16 not out) and Ibadat Hossain (13 not out) scored on the second day. Saved Bangladesh’s innings from collapsing.

Kuldeep Yadav and Mohammad Siraj took seven wickets together after a fine performance by the lower-order batsmen as India made Bangladesh 133 for eight in the first innings on the second day of the first cricket Test here on Thursday. Kuldeep Yadav (4/33) and Siraj (3/14) took Bangladesh to 102 for eight before Mehdi Hasan Miraj (16 not out) and Ibadat Hossain (13 not out) scored on the second day. Saved Bangladesh’s innings from collapsing.

Both have added 31 runs for the ninth wicket. Bangladesh are still 271 runs short of India’s first innings score of 404 and need 72 more runs to avoid the follow-on. Earlier, an 87-run eighth-wicket partnership between Ravichandran Ashwin (58) and Kuldeep (40) helped India post a score above 400 runs. Kuldeep played the best innings of his Test career. Cheteshwar Pujara (90) was the top scorer for India while Shreyas Iyer also scored an innings of 86 runs. Bad start for Bangladesh.

Siraj got left-handed batsman Najmul Hasan Shanto (00) caught by wicketkeeper Rishabh Pant on the very first ball of the innings. Umesh Yadav, leading the team’s pace attack in the absence of Mohammed Shami and Jasprit Bumrah, then bowled Yasir Ali (04) to take Bangladesh to five for two in the fourth over. Liton Das (24) played some attractive shots and along with opener Zakir Hasan (20) did not let Bangladesh suffer further setbacks till the tea break.

In the fourth over after the break, Siraj’s low ball was played by Liton on the wickets, while this fast bowler got Zakir caught by Pant and Bangladesh scored 56 runs for four wickets. Captain Shakib Al Hasan (03) struggled during his 25-ball innings and Kuldeep, playing his first Test in almost 20 months, had Kohli caught in the slips off the very second ball. Wicket-keeper batsman Nurul Hasan (16) hit Kuldeep for two fours but then the same left-arm spinner played the ball in the hands of Shubman Gill at short leg.

Kuldeep then trapped veteran batsman Mushfiqur Rahman (28) leg before, while Taijul Islam (00) was bowled in the same over to make Bangladesh 102 for eight. Mehidy Hasan and Ibadat then added some useful runs. Mehdi Hasan hit Kuldeep while Ibadat hit Ashwin for a six. Mehdi, however, was lucky to score eight runs when Kuldeep’s ball took the outside edge of his bat and went between the wicketkeeper and the slips for four runs. The morning session belonged to Ashwin and Kuldeep.

The 28-year-old Kuldeep, who has scored a century and six half-centuries in first-class cricket, opened the account on the 18th ball but showed strong defence. He scored a lot of runs by playing slog and reverse sweep. Ashwin, who scored a total of five centuries including four against the West Indies, looked very focused during his 13th half-century. Playing ahead of 278 for six, India lost the wicket of Shreyas Iyer (86) in the eighth over, who was bowled by Ibadat Hossain (1 for 70).

Iyer once again fell short of a century and could only add four runs to yesterday’s score. He hit ten fours in his innings of 192 balls. Iyer scored his first Test century on his debut in November last year and has been waiting for his second century ever since. Shakib tasked star spinner Mehidy Hasan (4/112) and pacer Khalid Ahmed (1/43) with the task of breaking the Ashwin-Kuldeep partnership but the Indian batsmen put up a tough fight.

Ashwin hit Taijul Islam (4/133) for his second six after lunch and then brought up his half-century with a single off the next ball. Mehidy Hasan broke this partnership by getting Ashwin caught by Nurul Hasan. Ashwin hit two sixes and as many fours in his 113-ball innings. Taijul also lbw Kuldeep in the next over. Umesh (15 not out) hit Mehdi Hasan for two sixes but the spinner ended the Indian innings by sending Siraj (04) to the pavilion.

Disclaimer:Prabhasakshi has not edited this news. This news has been published from PTI-language feed.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular