Tuesday, January 31, 2023
HomeSport NewsAustralia will become champion for the fourth time in Men's Hockey World...

Australia will become champion for the fourth time in Men’s Hockey World Cup 2023

Australia will become champion for the fourth time in Men’s Hockey World Cup 2023

Three-time champion team Australia is all set to win the International Hockey Federation Men’s Hockey World Cup title to be played in India. The last time Australia won this title was in the year 2014 during the Hockey World Cup held in Netherlands.

Bhubaneswar. Three-time champions and world number one Australia are confident of regaining their title at the FIH (International Hockey Federation) Men’s Hockey World Cup to be played in Bhubaneswar and Rourkela from January 13 to 29. Australia last won the title in 2014 in The Hague, Netherlands. The team was successful in defending its title here. It won its first title in 1986 by defeating hosts England.

In the last World Cup, Australia had to settle for a bronze medal. Australia captain Eddie Ockenden said after arriving here that our players are really excited to be here and we have high hopes from the tournament. We want to do well and are confident that we will be able to win the title. Our team has a lot of experience and that will be really important for us. The Australian team will start its campaign against France here on 13 January.

Australia coach Colin Batch also expressed hope that they have a good team to win the title this time and their intentions are strong. “We have a good squad and our players are fantastic goal scorers which is really important as it helps you win matches. The coach said that along with this the team’s defense is also very strong. We often stop the opposition team from scoring. In such a situation, our team is very strong.

He said that our players are also excited to face India as they are a completely different team at home. They play great hockey at home and get extra motivation from the spectators. If we play against India, it will be difficult to beat them. The England team also reached here on Friday. England are in Pool D in the World Cup along with India, Spain and Wales. England’s best performance in the World Cup has been winning the silver medal in the 1986 season.

The team will begin their campaign against Wales on January 13 in Rourkela. After this he has to play against India on 15th January. England captain Davis Ames said that I think we are title contenders. There is a lot of belief in our camp as everyone believes in their ability and we have also trained well in the last few months.

Disclaimer:Prabhasakshi has not edited this news. This news has been published from PTI-language feed.

#Australia #champion #fourth #time #Mens #Hockey #World #Cup



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular